AYP celebrates 2016 award winners

The Chamber’s Aiken Young Professionals (AYP) recognized two of its peers at the group’s Annual End-of-Year Gala held December 11 at TRIO Bar and Kitchen.


Kendall Carter, Aiken Technical College, was named Most Valuable Young Professional, and Eric Brinkley, Aiken Laundromats, received Aiken’s Rising Star award.  


Aiken Chamber President J. David Jameson presented the awards.


Carter has been a member of AYP since 2014. She served as the chair of the Membership Committee in 2015. Carter is a Solution Advisor at Aiken Technical College and is a graduate of USC Aiken.

“Kendall brings an indescribable joy and excitement to the front desk at all AYP events. She is a friendly yet familiar face and always makes it a point to greet all the attendees at each event,” said her nominator. “It may not seem like much but it is a task that not everyone could handle or is willing to handle. She is the first face members and guests see at an event and she has handled that responsibility extremely well.  Kendall is a great representative of what AYP is all about.”

Brinkley has been a member of AYP since 2013 and served as the 2015 chair of AYP. He is a 2014-2015 graduate of Leadership Aiken County. He serves on the Aiken Downtown Development Association Board and is chair of its membership committee. Brinkley is an Eagle Scout and has volunteered as a site leader with Salkehatchie Summer Service for the last 10 years. He serves as a volunteer and assessor for United Way of Aiken County Project Vision.

“Eric has a passion for Aiken and the young professionals in this community. He strives to make Aiken a place where even more young professionals and young families will want to call home,” said Jameson. “Eric is not satisfied with the status quo; he is willing to stand up and make change happen.”

The Most Valuable Young Professional Award honors an individual for their involvement in the community, as well as his or her involvement with the Aiken Young Professionals.

The Aiken’s Rising Star Award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated those qualities necessary to lead Aiken into the future. This individual is recognized for overall character, leadership and excellence in his or her chosen field, as well as for overall accomplishment in relationship building, professional development, philanthropic activity and contribution to the community.

For more information on Aiken Young Professionals, or to join the group, please visit www.aikenyoungprofessionals.com.


Aiken’s Rising Star Recipients

2009 -Joshua Stewart
2010 - Selwyn DeLoach
2011 - Richard Holley
2012 - Mallory Holley
2013 - Catie Rabun
2014 - Avery Spears-Mahoney
2015 - Kendall Carter

AYP MVP Recipients

2009 - Jason Rabun
2010 - Nealie Godbee
2011 - Sarah Kinney
2012 - Derrick McLane
2013 - Avery Spears-Mahoney
2014 - Melissa Viola 
2015 – Eric Brinkley


icon-circle-arrow-up Top