Jameson Elected SRSCRO Chair

J. David Jameson, president of the Greater Aiken Chamber of Commerce, has been elected Chairman of the Savannah River Site Community Reuse Organization (SRSCRO) board of directors for a two-year term, effective January 1.  Jameson has served on the SRSCRO board since 2005.           
"In his more than four years on the board, David has proven himself to be an informed, proactive leader who cares deeply about the issues that affect our region and about our ability to prosper in the years ahead," said W. R. (Rick) Toole, president of W. R. Toole Engineers and outgoing Board Chairman. 
Jameson co-chairs the organization's Yucca Mountain Task Force, which is conducting a region wide information and education campaign aimed at informing community leaders about the implications of the federal government's decision to halt work on its only option for long-term nuclear waste storage.
He has also been active in the organization's Nuclear Workforce Initiative, created to assess the future needs of the commercial and government sectors of the nuclear industry in a two-state region and to implement education and training programs needed to assure a qualified workforce to meet future industry needs.
A study conducted for the SRSCRO in 2009 estimates that nearly 10,000 new workers will be needed in the next decade to support the expansion of the nuclear industry in the Central Savannah River Area (CSRA) of Georgia and South Carolina.
As the U. S. Department of Energy's designated Community Reuse Organization (CRO), the SRSCRO is a 501(c) (3) private non-profit organization. SRSCRO is charged with developing and implementing a comprehensive strategy to diversify the economy of the five-county SRSCRO region in the Central Savannah River Area (CSRA) of Georgia and South Carolina.
SRSCRO is governed by a 22-member board of directors composed of business, government and academic leaders from the two states.  The SRSCRO region includes Richmond and Columbia counties in Georgia and Aiken, Allendale and Barnwell counties in South Carolina.

icon-circle-arrow-up Top