Leaders return today from annual advocacy trip to DC

Business, government, education and civic leaders return today from a three-day trip to Washington, DC. The trip’s purpose was to provide valuable input on critical issues that affect the CSRA, a region of more than a half million people.

The annual trip included meetings and informal discussions with elected officials and key department heads and decision makers. It is a collaborative initiative of four area chambers, including the Aiken Chamber, North Augusta Chamber, Augusta Metro Chamber and Columbia County Chamber that has existed for 22 years.


The Aiken contingency was led by Chamber President/CEO, J. David Jameson and Chamber Board Chair Charlie Hartz.


“The CSRA Leadership Trip is a very effective way of informing and educating our legislators on issues important to the vitality of our businesses and our community,” Jameson said. 


The contingency met with senior leadership at the U.S. Department of Energy to discuss issues relevant to the Savannah River Site (see talking points).


Individual meetings were held with South Carolina Representative Wilson and Senators Graham, as well as Georgia Senators Isakson and Perdue and Representatives Hice and Allen.


Before leaving D.C., the group met at the Raytheon Rosslyn Facility for a morning of cyber briefings related to Fort Gordan.


“Members of Congress and agency heads find it impressive that our economic region includes two states, but we still find commonality on vital concerns that affect the half million citizens of our region,” said Jameson.


 The Aiken contingency of the CSRA Leadership delegation includes: 

  • Dean Campbell – Savannah River Remediation
  • Mandy Collins -  Aiken Chamber of Commerce
  • Teresa Haas – Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, LLC
  • J. David Jameson – Greater Aiken Chamber of Commerce
  • Monica Key – Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations
  • Clay Killian – Aiken County
  • Rick McLeod – SRS Community Reuse Organization
  • Tim O’Briant – City of Aiken
  • Mayor Rick Osbon – City of Aiken

 Other participants in the CSRA Leadership delegation are:

  • Frank Anderson - RBW Logistics
  • Robert Bennett – Columbia County Development Authority
  • Allen Bonds – Auben Realty
  • Kerry Bridges – Georgia Power
  • Terra Carroll — North Augusta Chamber of Commerce
  • Thomas Clark – CSRA Alliance
  • Rob Dennis – Augusta University
  • John Dewey - Janus Research Group, Inc.
  • Fran Forehand – Georgia Power
  • Brandon Haddock — Textron Specialized Vehicles
  • Mary Anne Harasim – Intelligenesis, LLC
  • Adam Harris - Queensborough National Bank & Trust
  • Charlie Hartz – Dunkin’ Donuts of Aiken
  • Mark Herbert - Herbert Homes, Inc.
  • Janice Jackson – City of Augusta
  • Sue Parr — Augusta Metro Chamber of Commerce
  • Angela Pringle - Richmond County Schools System
  • Tammy Shepherd — Columbia County Chamber of Commerce
  • Stan Shepherd — AT&T
  • Ronald Thigpen – South State Bank
  • Jim Thorpe - Ellefson Transportation Group
  • Kyle Titus - Goodwyn Mills Cawood (GMC)
  • Kevin Toole — South State Bank
  • Barry White — Augusta Conventions and Visitors Bureau
  • Reagan Williams - Sherman & Hemstreet


icon-circle-arrow-up Top